Disaster and Emergencies Preparedness Programme Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Project

The DEPP aims to develop systemic, organisational and individual solutions to persistent problems in preparedness issues and generate an evidence base for what works in capacity building. The Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Project was developed to provide that evidence base.

Generating new evidence requires new approaches. Rather than a conventional, extractive, compliance-driven MEL system, this project invests in embedded capacity and innovative technology tools and platforms. The MEL project will accompany the other DEPP projects to implement a programme level MEL framework to ensure the DEPP is evidenced as one coherent programme rather than dozens of individual projects.

The MEL team will implement activities at the global, regional and national levels to champion and capture learning. This includes for example implementing learning events and workshops, supporting in the roll-out of tools and platforms, partnership brokering to bring external actors into dialogue with DEPP evidence, creating a DEPP community of practice, developing in-country learning objectives and advocacy plans, collecting and collating monitoring data against the DEPP’s theory of change, tracking the added value of working in collaboration, conducting internal evaluative exercises, improving good practice standards, producing information products and implementing the knowledge and information sharing strategy.

This project will make a difference to people affected by crises by enabling the DEPP projects to make iterative improvements of their work and providing the sector with a strong evidence base about what works in humanitarian capacity building.

Key Contacts

Christina Haberl, DEPP Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning Team Manager: 

Read more

The DEPP MEL framework summary.
Infographic showing the timeline for the MEL project focus of the team in the UK.

Action Against Hunger and Relief International
Philippines, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Jordan, Kenya, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Mozambique